Team Structure


cofelogoThe Church of England is divided into 44 main areas called ‘Dioceses’ each with a Bishop and Assistant Bishops. We are part of the Diocese of Salisbury and our Bishop is The Right Reverend Nicholas Holtam and he has two assistants; The Bishop of Ramsbury (The Right Reverend Dr Edward Condry) and the Bishop of Sherborne (The Right Reverend Dr Graham Kings). They divide the Diocese into three main areas and we deal mainly with The Bishop of Sherborne. The Diocese is further divided into Deaneries and we come under the Deanery of Poole. The Deanery is then divided into ‘parishes’. On 1 July 2009 the parish of St Andrew, Kinson divided into two parishes, St Andrew, Kinson and St Philip, West Howe. The two parishes are united in one benefice of Kinson and West Howe.

Together we are responsible for the baptisms, funerals and weddings in our parishes. We also pray for and care for those in our parishes, sharing the love of Jesus with them. This is not the job of the Vicar alone but all of us together to share in the work that Jesus gives us to do for Him.